Tengu Fit: Blood raiders 5/10 and 6/10

I probably have more hours in my Tengu than I do in all my other ships combined.  I love this ship.  As a newbie, it was the first thing I trained for after the Drake battlecruiser.  I finished my skills for it before I even had T2 missile skills.  I was so proud of it, I flew it into the Blood Raiders 4/10 (Mul-Zatah Monastery) and LOST it to the neuting cruisers!  You read that right, I lost my first Tengu to NPC’s within days of buying it.  I had run them previously in my passive Drake and meticulously killed every single cruiser before taking out the Inner Sanctum.  I figured that since the Tengu was so amazing, it could tank all those cruisers while I blitzed the Sanctum and warped out with my loot.  It was an expensive mistake and I didn’t repeat it.

I replaced that Tengu and the couple of others that I have lost since.  It is still my favorite ship.  I have Tengu subsystems lying around all over New Eden.  So while I would love to do a fit of the week ala Jester , I really don’t know how to fit very many ships beyond the Tengu.

I used to spend a lot of time in Blood Raiders space.  The Blood Raiders 5/10 (Blood Raider Psychotropics Depot) and the 6/10 (Crimson Hand Supply Depot) are very lucrative to run.  Here is the fit that I use:

[Tengu, HAM- Blood 5/10 6/10]

Ballistic Control System II

Ballistic Control System II

Ballistic Control System II

Ballistic Control System II


10MN Afterburner II

Pith C-Type Large Shield Booster

EM Ward Field II

Pith C-Type EM Ward Field

‘Stalwart’ Particle Field Magnifier

Cap Recharger II

Cap Recharger II


Heavy Assault Missile Launcher II, Mjolnir Rage Heavy Assault Missile

Heavy Assault Missile Launcher II, Mjolnir Rage Heavy Assault Missile

Heavy Assault Missile Launcher II, Mjolnir Rage Heavy Assault Missile

Heavy Assault Missile Launcher II, Mjolnir Rage Heavy Assault Missile

Heavy Assault Missile Launcher II, Mjolnir Rage Heavy Assault Missile


Medium Hydraulic Bay Thrusters I

Medium Rocket Fuel Cache Partition I

Medium Capacitor Control Circuit II


Tengu Defensive – Amplification Node

Tengu Electronics – Emergent Locus Analyzer

Tengu Offensive – Accelerated Ejection Bay

Tengu Engineering – Capacitor Regeneration Matrix

Tengu Propulsion – Gravitational Capacitor



The key to this fit is how cheap it is (for a Tengu anyway).  The Pith C-Type Large Shield Booster is only 55M isk as of this writing.  The Pith C-Type EM Ward Field is about 70M isk and it is only necessary for CPU reasons.  You can easily use faction ballistic controls to overcome the CPU issues and gain the corresponding dps.  This is a very tight fit on CPU.  If you have less than perfect fitting skills, you will need to compromise somewhere.**  If you have a second scanning ship or extra inventory space, you can use the CPU Efficiency subsystem and swap a Capacitor Flux Coil for the Cap Recharger.  Everything else on this fit is cheap.  It tanks an astounding 800dps for blood raider damage types and is cap stable.  It deals 585 dps using EM damage which is enough to take out the final boss on both the 5/10 and the 6/10 without reloading.  Due to resistance profiles, it is MUCH better to use EM damage than bonused kinectic damage.

This fit is about 450M isk.  Given that drops from a 6/10 include Corpum A-Type Energized Adaptive Nano Membrane worth 910M, this ship can pay for itself it 1 run.  Try that with a Level 4 mission runner faction battleship ;)

Of course, you can bling it out if you want to.  Faction ballistic controls would be the first choice followed by Tech 2 rigs.  But you only gain a slight speed improvement that will save a few minutes at most.  Is that worth almost doubling the price of the ship?

** Edit 10/24/2013:  The Dread Guristas EM Ward Amplifier only costs 15M.  Using it will instead of the Pith-C Ward Field will save you 45M isk, about 5CPU and improve your cap stability.  It tanks a little less (about 70dps less with EM Ward Comp IV), but it is still sufficient for both complexes. 

2 thoughts on “Tengu Fit: Blood raiders 5/10 and 6/10

  1. James

    As I didn`t find any contact form or something similar on your blog excuse me if I ask this in your comments section.

    I came back to the game after a two years break and I had great fun with exploration and DED sites before, mainly flying a tengu in angel space but with all the changes its pretty rough to find a point where to start. I really enjoyed reading your blog so far and would like to spend an hour or two running lowsec DED sites a day for fun.

    Do you have any suggestions for someone who has not trained T2 HAMs yet and only has T2 HML including perfect missile support skills? ( 14 days left on T2 HAMs)

    The 5/10 seems to have an awful lot of frigates and with HML and without a painter this looks like painfully slow and dangerous in low.

    CN HAM Launchers are out of the question as my budget is really tight at the moment and
    without a scanner alt I need to carry the DED Fit + mobile depot with me to fly with my travel fit.

    With Meta4 HAM Launchers and CN Mjolnirs I am looking at 430 dps without implants. That is 35% less dps than what you get with your fit, would this still be enough to start out?

    Any suggestions or your opinion would be appreciated to help me out get started again.
    Also, i have not seen a single post / guide about proper use and tips & tricks for mobile depot usage. Maybe that would be something for you to write down your thoughts about if you find the time and think this is an interesting topic.

    Thanks for your answer upfront and a merry christmas.
    James

    1. Pilgrim in Exile Post author

      Thanks for the comment. I will have to add a contact form – I never thought of it before.

      If you don’t have T2 HAM’s yet, you are better off with T2 HML’s. Using Meta (or even faction) HAM’s won’t work because you need the range and small explosion radius of the T2 Javelins. In fact, I use Javelins on almost everything but battleships/battlecruisers & structures. In your case, use T2 HML’s with Scourge for battleships/battlecruisers/structures and CN ammo (or Precision) for cruisers and frigates. You will usually pop non-elite frigates in 2 volleys. If you are having trouble with elite frigates, add a stasis web – that helps a lot more than a target painter. Swap the missile range rigs for rigors. Drop down to a meta-4 shield booster if you need to save CPU.

      Most 5/10’s and annexes are more about tank than dps. You will go a bit slower with the HML’s, but you should be fine. The 6/10’s are more about dps. I couldn’t break the tank of the Blood 6/10 overseer with HML’s. The Angel’s 5/10 structure shoot will also take a bit longer with HML’s, but at least you can still do it.

      Thanks for the idea about mobile depot usage. That will probably be an upcoming post.

Comments are closed.