Know when to walk away, Know when to FUN

You never count your money when you’re sittin’ at the table.
There’ll be time enough for countin’ when the dealin’s done.

The Gambler

A big part of making isk through exploration is knowing what to SKIP.  A lot of the sites just don’t have much return for the amount of time invested.  Rogue drone site in high sec?  Skip it.  Cosmic anomalies?  Skip it.  Unrated complexes?  Only if there is nothing better.  Data sites?  Scan for the good stuff, cherry pick, and move on.  Ditto for Relic sites.

This is the efficient way to play.  But I don’t always feel like playing efficiently.  Sometimes I do the hacking minigame just for the fun of it.  Sometimes I hack all the cans even when cargo scanning told me that it isn’t worth my time.  Sometimes I run a combat site just because I haven’t done it in a long time.   Sometimes I even go back and loot and salvage it.  Sometimes I clone jump into a long unused Assault Frigate clone and run high sec sites just for the fun of being in a maxed-out combat frigate.   And of course PVP is usually not an isk efficient activity.  But this is a game.  And while making lots of isk can certainly be fun, grinding for isk is not (at least not for me).

Fun is different things to different people.  And I think that is why the second half of this post by Eve Hermit made me smile.   I could hear the FUN in his unplanned, fully boosted mining session.

Sometimes you do an activity whether it is mining or missioning or scanning or whatever – just for the joy of the game.

2 thoughts on “Know when to walk away, Know when to FUN

  1. evehermit

    I tend to run everything, unless I don’t have a suitable ship nearby. I even do the mini-game on can’s I know carry nothing of value – and just ignore the loot spew and move on. That way I figure when they re-spawn someone else might have better luck. I read the other day that I was just a completionist. That was nice, given I had suspected OCD.

  2. Pilgrim in Exile Post author

    You are much nicer than I am. Actually, a few times I have not only left the bad cans unopened, I also left a cargo container of leftover crap at the site. Unintentional insult to injury I suppose.

Comments are closed.