50th Post Milestone / Blogging is Weird

Earlier this morning, I published my 50th post.  I started October 21st so I managed to average about 25 posts per month.  Frankly, that is better than I thought I would do – at least in terms of frequency.  Good content?  Meh – still working on it.

I have developed a healthy respect for writers that manage to post large updates everyday and multiple times per day.

I have also come to the conclusion that blogging is weird.  This is an Eve blog.  However, a full 50% of my “likes” have been on the Friday Poetry posts.  I think they are from other web poets that “like” just about everything in order to drive traffic to their own poetry sites.

Also, I have been endlessly amused by the spam comments that WordPress filters out for me.  If you are a blogger, I am sure you are familiar with them, but as a newbie they are quite hilarious.  My favorites:

“Most of whatever you say is astonishingly accurate and it makes me wonder the reason why I hadn’t looked at this with this light before. This article truly did switch the light on for me as far as this specific topic goes. Nevertheless there is one particular position I am not too comfortable with so while I try to reconcile that with the actual core idea of the position, permit me observe what all the rest of your readers have to say.Nicely done.”

“It is really entry levels in terms of black colored metallic without reserving unyielding passion to suit another factor. Phantom’s cries were characteristic for the genre, with many distance provided to the cruelty.”

I am pretty sure I wrote something similar on a high school history paper when I didn’t have enough content to fill 10 pages.

Top Posts so far:

Sisters of Mercy? A review of the Stratios – Amazingly, this blog makes page 1 for a Google search of “Stratios Review”.  Did nobody else write one?

Tengu Fit: Blood raiders 5/10 and 6/10 – I am also on page 1 for a Google search of “Tengu Fit Blood Raiders”

Ghosts in the Rubicon Machine – I posted a link to this in the comments on one of Jester’s posts.  Traffic spiked.

Ninja Salvaging in Rubicon – I posted a link to this in the comments of one of Sugar Kyle’s posts.  Again – traffic spiked.

According to WordPress, I have incoming traffic from 38 different countries.  That really underscores how global EVE really is.  Top countries in order are US, Switzerland, Germany, Australia, UK.  There is no Iceland on the list :)

Anyway, thanks for reading.  Especially, I want to thank Eve Hermit.  He is my most frequent commenter and was the first to add a link to my blog on his website.

3 thoughts on “50th Post Milestone / Blogging is Weird

  1. chellarainer

    I always feel odd writing about blog stats but they interest me. A lot of people will never comment but will read.

    I find readers motivational and a good focus to improve my content. For my first few months I had about ten hits a day. Regular content and good content are different things. Both bring in readers but good content keeps them :)

    You are doing fine. It is interesting stuff. You will find your rythem and thrive. I don’t do ship reviews for instance while you did a fantastic one.

    1. Pilgrim in Exile Post author

      Thank you! I decided when I started that I would write the stuff that interests me whether anyone else liked it or not. But I can’t help obsessively checking my stats to see if anyone is reading – and that has in turn influenced what I write about.

      1. Sugar Kyle (@ChellaRanier)

        Many (I won’t say all) obsessively check their stats. There are different reasons to do so that are not just ‘yay people read’ but I find nothing wrong with ‘yay’. Seeing what people respond to is always interesting and if readership motivates you it will help you settle into your personal flow.

        Obsession with stats is the Achilles heel of some although they may not see it as such. I do not care for posts made to set the hit count on fire. I think it tends to take away from the quality. But everyone writes for a different reason.

Comments are closed.