Strong and Content I Travel the Open Road

This is a long poem.  I am only posting my 2 favorite stanzas from it, but I especially like 2 lines:

Strong and content I travel the open road” and “We convince by our presence

Walt Whitman was a complicated man.  He is probably most famous for penning “O Captain, my Captain” about the death of Abraham Lincoln (the poem was made famous by Robin Williams in “The Dead Poet’s Society”), but he was also a forceful personality and a bit of a vagabond.  His lifestyle and writing were the predecessors for the “Beat Generation” and inspired one of its leaders Jack Kerouac (author of “On the Road”).  Whitman was also a hero to author Bram Stoker and some literary critics think that Bram Stoker’s Dracula was at least partially based on Whitman.

Song of the Open Road (sections 1 and 10)

Afoot and light-hearted I take to the open road,
Healthy, free, the world before me,
The long brown path before me leading wherever I choose.
Henceforth I ask not good-fortune, I myself am good-fortune,
Henceforth I whimper no more, postpone no more, need nothing,
Done with indoor complaints, libraries, querulous criticisms,
Strong and content I travel the open road.
The earth, that is sufficient,
I do not want the constellations any nearer,
I know they are very well where they are,
I know they suffice for those who belong to them.
(Still here I carry my old delicious burdens,
I carry them, men and women, I carry them with me wherever I go,
I swear it is impossible for me to get rid of them,
I am fill’d with them, and I will fill them in return.)

Allons! the inducements shall be greater,
We will sail pathless and wild seas,
We will go where winds blow, waves dash, and the Yankee clipper speeds by under full sail.
Allons! with power, liberty, the earth, the elements,
Health, defiance, gayety, self-esteem, curiosity;
Allons! from all formules!
From your formules, O bat-eyed and materialistic priests.
The stale cadaver blocks up the passage—the burial waits no longer.
Allons! yet take warning!
He traveling with me needs the best blood, thews, endurance,
None may come to the trial till he or she bring courage and health,
Come not here if you have already spent the best of yourself,
Only those may come who come in sweet and determin’d bodies,
No diseas’d person, no rum-drinker or venereal taint is permitted here.
(I and mine do not convince by arguments, similes, rhymes,
We convince by our presence.)
Walt Whitman, (1819-1892)
