Exploration Log 27-30 April 2014

Welcome to the Exploration Log. The semi-regular updates where I report actual exploration game time along with the results.

Game Time: Approx 5.5 hours (over 4 days)

Location(s): Angels Lowsec, Guristas Lowsc

System Count: 16

Sites Run: Combat 6 (3 sites and 3 escalations)

Ghost sites seen: 0

Ship(s) Used: Tengu

Profit: ~610 million isk

Comments: (I have been kind of slacking on the blog front lately.  I have had some problems with wordpress and haven’t been motivated to correct them.  So I have a few blog posts hanging in drafts that I should probably publish eventually.)

I was making my way to Guristas Space, but took a tour through Angels Lowsec first.  I was able to run a pair of Angel’s Red Light Districts in the same system.  They were pretty straightforward, but only modestly profitable.  In addition to the bounties and guaranteed OPE drops, I picked up a Cynabal BPC and a Gistum B-type shield transporter.  I was continuing on my merry way when I found an Angels Annex.  I don’t think I have run one of these before, I so looked up what I might expect on the official wiki.  I had an Angels Platinum Tag in my cargo, so I skipped the first room.  The second was quite fast.  I basically just shot the shipyard to trigger the Overseer and then killed him.  That barely warrants a guide, but I suppose I will write one up anyway.  The site escalated and the Overseer dropped some junk modules and a Domination 100MN Afterburner.

At this time, I was pretty low on missiles, but the first escalation took me past one of my supply caches.  It is a Giant Secure container anchored in space and full of missiles.  I exchanged some loot for missiles and continued to my escalation.  I didn’t actually run it until the next day, but I got to the system and set up my bookmarks.

I used a mobile depot to re-fit and went in.  The ships were all about 60km out.  I just used my Javelin missiles (range 65km) and set orbit at 60km.  The Overseer battleship popped pretty quickly.  He must not have had much tank.  I bookmarked the wreck and warped out to refit.

I came back to the wreck and found some faction ammo, a Halo Epsilon implant, a Domination Warp Disruptor, and some other forgettable faction loot.  Not too shabby for an escalation.  And the site escalated again – bonus!

The next escalation was actually in Guristas space.  How convenient!  Less convenient was that the route was several jumps through null-sec space, but I refit to my Interdiction Nullifier and blazed through it.  The space was actually semi-populated, but there were no gate camps.

The next escalation dropped nothing but faction ammo and a tag.  It escalated again to Guristas space about 3 jumps away.  I ran that escalation and again got nothing but faction ammo and a tag.  I got the final escalation to null sec, but was out of time.  Hopefully, I can get back before the 24 hour timer.  Side note:  I am very unhappy that CCP changed it so that you can no longer extend escalations.  That was a very useful thing for those of us that can’t play everyday.

 

2 thoughts on “Exploration Log 27-30 April 2014

  1. Mintysnake

    That really sucks about not being able to extend escalations anymore. I recently learned this trick from reading your blog, went to try it, and it didn’t work.

    It seems like I always get escalations right before heading to bed and never have time to actually run them. I think 24 hours is too short if you’re not able to extend then. I would prefer a 72 hour time instead.

Comments are closed.